Topics for Further Study Challenges Ahead About the Data Acknowledgements

Civic Vitality- About the Data

The data presented here are regional in scope. Unless specifically noted otherwise, the indicators for Houston (as well as the other communities under comparison) pertain to areas designated by the U.S. Census Bureau’s Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) system of classification. The Houston- Sugar Land-Baytown MSA currently includes nine counties: Harris, Montgomery, Liberty, Chambers, Galveston, Brazoria, Fort Bend, Waller, and Austin. References in the report to “Greater Houston,” the “Houston metro,” “Houston,” and the “Houston region” all refer to the Houston MSA, unless otherwise specified (e.g., “City of Houston”).

The indicators are intended to track Houston’s progress over time, as well as how the area compares to similar regionsFor this report, nine comparison MSAs have been selected for analysis: Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, Boston-Cambridge- Newton, Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach, New York-Newark-Jersey City, Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, and San Francisco-Oakland-Hayward. Throughout the report, these regions are referred to by the primary city that anchors them (e.g., “Los Angeles” for Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim). 9-County Region